Person: Margo Montgomery

Dr Nils Petersen

Dr Nils Petersen has been appointed as the first permanent DG of the National Institute for Nanotechnology (NINT), effective November/04. He replaces Dr Janusz Lustzyk, who has been serving in an acting capacity since October/03. Petersen comes to NINT from the Univ of Western Ontario (UWO) where he was VP research and board chair of…

Susan Miller

Susan Miller is stepping down as president and CEO of Inno-Centre Alberta (ICA) effective September 1/04 after a three-year term. Her departure was announced June 7, six days after the organization announced “organizational changes” and an expansion of duties for ICA VP Hugh MacNaught. MacNaught joined ICA in August/02 and was promoted to VP in…

Margo Montgomery

Margo Montgomery has stepped down as DG of the Industrial Research Assistance Program. National Research Council officials say the resignation was a personal decision. Montgomery is being replaced in an acting capacity by William Smith, regional IRAP director for Ontario….

Dr David Strangway

Dr David Strangway has been awarded the Walter Hitschfeld Award from the Canadian Association of University Research Administrators. The award was given to Strangway for a lifetime dedication to advancing Canadian research, most recently as president and CEO of the Canada Foundation for Innovation….

Dr Francesco Bellini

Dr Francesco Bellini has been made an officer of the Ordre national du Québec. Bellini was awarded for his contributions to the fields of science, business and community involvement, particularly his co-founding of BioChem Pharma….