Person: Ian Thomas

Ian Thomas

The innovation imperative
Acting today for tomorrow’s prosperity
By Ian Thomas

Having had over 20 years’ experience in science and technology/innovation administration, and with retirement beckoning, I have had some time of late to reflect on how far Canada has travelled in these past two decades, utilizing the “innovation engine” to become a more globally competitive player.

Sue Miller

Sue Miller has been appointed CEO of Hatsize Corp, a developer of virtual online laboratories based in Calgary. Miller was previously head of three major tech companies — Compaq Canada, Merisel Europe and Merisel Canada. Hatsize is targetting companies seeking to accelerate development of its software and networking products….

Ian Thomas

Ian Thomas, director of innovation policy with Alberta’s Department of Advanced Education and Technology, is retiring from public service after a 33-year career. Thomas has worked in several provinces, initially as a teacher in London and Alberta before moving into civil provincial service. Since 1988, he has worked with the governments of British Columbia, Ontario…

Stewart Beck

Stewart Beck has been appointed consul general for San Francisco replacing Marc LePage. Beck is currently assistant DM of the international business development, investment and innovation branch at the Department of International Trade and Foreign Affairs. Prior to joining DFAIT, he was consul general to Shanghai….

Dr Anthony Phillips

Dr Anthony Phillips has been appointed scientific director of the Institute of Neurosciences, Mental Health and Addiction, one of 13 Canadian Institutes of Health Research. Currently a professor of psychiatry at the Univ of British Columbia, Phillips replaces Dr Rémi Quirion. He is also a senior investigator with UBC/Vancouver Coastal Health Brain Research Centre. Phillips…

Kevin Fitzgibbons

Kevin Fitzgibbons has been appointed executive director of the office of the new National Science Advisor, effective May 1, the first employee to be hired in support of Dr Arthur Carty. Fitzgibbons comes to the NSA office within the Privy Council Office from the National Research Council, which he joined in 1991. Most recently he…

Ian Thomas

Ian Thomas, manager of Innovation Programs and Policy Research with the Science and Technology Division of Ontario’s Ministry of Economic Development and Trade, has left to join the Alberta government. He has been appointed to the newly created position of director, Policy and Planning, with the Alberta Ministry of Innovation and Science (MIS). Over a…

Dr Bruce Clayman

Dr Bruce Clayman has been elected director of the Centre for Policy Research on Science and Technology (CPROST) at Simon Fraser Univ (SFU), replacing Dr Richard Smith. He will take administrative leave from his position as VP research at SFU at the end of August, a position he has held since 1994. Clayman is a…

Dr William Bridger

Dr William Bridger is stepping down as president/ CEO of the Alberta Ingenuity Fund , a position he has held since September/03. He was formerly VP research at the Univ of Western Ontario and associate VP research and a professor of biochemistry at the Univ of Alberta….

Dr Aubrey Tingle

Dr Aubrey Tingle has been appointed president and CEO of the Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research (see page 3), following his leadership of a coalition that resulted in the formation of the new body. Prior to the appointment, Tingle held three executive positions in British Columbia – all focused on research into children and…